The three bridges that span the Efjord are situated in a magnificent landscape characterised by tall mountains. From the road, one has a panoramic view overlooking the landscape and bridges. Low-lying islands situated in the Efjord enabled the bridge to be divided into three sections. As a consequence, three separate bridges were built, instead of only one. The southernmost bridge, Sørstraumen Bridge, is a low-rising cantilever bridge constructed of steel and concrete. Next is the bridge Mellastraumen Bridge, which is an elegant arch bridge with an overlying bridge deck, all of concrete. The northernmost bridge is Kjerringstraumen Bridge - the most spectacular of the three. It is a suspension bridge with only one tower which is placed on a holm in the middle of the bridge span. From the tall tower, cables lead downwards to anchors at each end of the bridge. The roadway runs straight through the tower and lies on a truss construction of steel. This type of construction was common to suspension bridges prior to the 1990s.

The road facility, including the bridges spanning the Efjord, is part of the main road 'Ev 6' that runs through Nordland County. Before the facility was completed in 1969, there was only ferry access. Remnants of the ferry quays, located on each side of the fjord (at Sætran and Forså) are still visible. The three bridges exhibit different methods of construction, and are examples of human intervention in a spectacular nature. The road facility and the bridges are characterised by high quality, both in terms of standard and design.

Year of construction



Statens vegvesen (The Norwegian Public Roads Administration)

Building Type


Construction System / Materials

Suspension bridge
cantilever bridge
arch bridge


suspension bridge
girder bridge
arched bridge




Bruene over Efjorden
Bruene over Efjorden
Bruene over Efjorden