Skip to main content

Description

The lighthouse measures 20 metres in height and is constructed of cast iron. The light source is located 28 metres above the high-water mark. To the right of the lighthouse lies a boathouse which is fronted by a boatlift on rails. Today the boathouse serves as a café and reception area. The middle building (in the photo) is an outbuilding, while the building to the left of the tower is a semi-detached house that was built in 1936.

The Tranøy Lighthouse was established in 1864 and included quarters for the lighthouse keeper. The first light apparatus emitted a continuous beam of light. In 1910 a new light system was installed
two flashes of light were emitted every six seconds. In 1936 this 20 metre tall tower was relocated here from Moholmen (by Kabelvåg), where it was built in 1914. Also at this time a diaphone fog signal system was installed in the tower. Plus, the operating staff grew into two full-time positions, as well as a substitute position. This led to a large expansion project where several different structures were constructed, such as two residences, an outbuilding, boatlift and boathouse. In 1959 the lighthouse was electrified and in 1969 a 250 metre long footbridge that leads to the mainland was built. Shortly afterwards the lighthouse was automated, and in 1983 the fog signal system was shut down. In 1991 the lighthouse was shut down altogether. Today ship navigation occurs via satellite.

Tranøy fyr