"Vardøhus festning" (3 of 7)
Description
The site within the ramparts consists today of eight buildings. With the exception of the gatehouse, which is integrated within the ramparts, they are all assembled in one courtyard. The gate is surmounted by a small building of plastered half-timbering, with a hipped roof. The corps de garde and commandant’s house are both single-storey, constructed of cog-jointed timbers, with external horizontal panelling and a slate-tiled gable roof. The engine room is cog-jointed, with vertical panelling, and is built over two storeys with a gable roof covered with roofing-felt. The gunpowder house and arsenal are single-storey buildings, walled of granite with turf-covered gable roofs. The well-house is the same, but this has a pyramid roof covered with roofing-felt.
In the fortress area five buildings are also to be found from the period 1811-1906, serving different functions linked to the operation of the fortress, including the distinctive Coastal Defence Barracks. The barracks were built in 1811 under the guidance of master bricklayers from Trondheim. In order to save on bricks, one of the long walls was built partly of granite and partly of brick. The walls are roughcast both internally and externally. The Coastal Defence Barracks originally formed the accommodation quarters for the Coastal Defence
In the fortress area five buildings are also to be found from the period 1811-1906, serving different functions linked to the operation of the fortress, including the distinctive Coastal Defence Barracks. The barracks were built in 1811 under the guidance of master bricklayers from Trondheim. In order to save on bricks, one of the long walls was built partly of granite and partly of brick. The walls are roughcast both internally and externally. The Coastal Defence Barracks originally formed the accommodation quarters for the Coastal Defence
today they serve as a venue for the Friends of the Fortress.